by Dan Janal,
Article Marketing Return on Investment: How To Determine Your
Article Marketing Success
When prospective clients call and ask about
our article marketing service, two of their most frequently
asked questions are: “ How do I measure my article marketing
return on investment?” and “How do I know if my investment in
time, energy and manpower is really paying off?”
Here are two formulas you can use to
determine your article marketing success:
1. Cost per lead.
First, let’s look at your hypothetical
article marketing costs. You need to write the article, find
sites to submit to your articles to, submit the articles and
then monitor the results.
When I submit articles, I notice a
significant increase in traffic. But having people visit the
site is not enough. I need to get them to create a relationship
with me so they will buy in the future.
To do this, you need to link your articles
to a special landing page on your website that offers readers
the opportunity to sign up for a free ezine or a special report.
To get these documents, they must you me their email address.
So how do you determine if your investment
is article marketing investment is worthwhile? Here are two
cost-per-lead yardsticks you can use.
- Let’s pick a mystical figure of $1,000
to do the writing, submitting and programming. Let’s also
assume for the sake of simplicity that you are submitting
the article to 100 sites and directories. Your results may
vary, but at least we have a starting point to work from.
Using simple division, you now know that your cost to submit
the article to one website is $10 because you are dividing
$1,000 by 100 sites.
- When readers identify themselves and
provide you with their names, emails and contact information
they become prospects, or leads. If you get 100 leads from
your $1,000 investment, your cost per lead is $10 (divide
the investment of $1,000 by the number of leads, 100, to
arrive at $10 per lead).
This number shouldn’t exist in a vacuum.
How much are you paying for a lead now? If it is more than $10,
then article marketing is saving you money! Congratulations!
I need to point out that while some people
will not sign up for your offer, no matter how wonderful it is.
Don’t count those people out. You have successfully branded
yourself to them by giving them an exposure to your services via
your article, your website and any materials they might have
read while perusing your website. I can’t put a direct value on
this, but it can’t hurt. Any positive impression you make with
someone is bound to pay off either directly, or indirectly.
2. Profit per sale.
Some people who come to your site will be
so impressed with your article and your offer that they will
immediately buy your product or engage in your services. Life
doesn’t get much better than this. You’ve made a sale without
spending precious time to convince them face to face, or on the
phone or via email.
Let’s look at the numbers. Let’s say you
are selling an e-book or other digital product for $55. You have
no cost of goods or shipping costs. You might have to pay a
credit card processing fee, of course. But for the sake of
discussion, let’s assume you are paying $5 in fees just so we
can keep the math simple. Your net profit is $50 per order.
You’ve paid $1,000 to place the articles
and you are getting $50 profit per article. You’ll need 20 sales
to break even. That’s one way to look at it. (Divide the
investment of $1,000 by the $50 profit to arrive at 20 orders.)
If you got 30 orders you’d be ahead $500. Congratulations!
Another way to look at this is to compare
this cost to your exiting cost per sale. Is it more than your
article marketing costs? Then you’re saving money by using
articles to make sales!
One more thing to consider: People who buy
from you once are likely to buy from you again. So your profit
per order could go up considerable once you factor in reorders
over the life of the customer.
Putting it all into perspective
These formulas can work with just about
any activity you do – from Google Ad Words, to sponsored ads, to
ads in newspapers and magazines. If you track your sales and
your leads with each method, you’ll be able to see which
activities get the best return on your precious investments. You
might be surprised when you see the true cost per lead and the
profit per sale. If so, you can re-allocate your resources to
get the maximum impact.
About the Author
Nationally recognized online publicity
expert, author of 6 books, and Founder of
PR LEADS, Dan Janal can help you get the most bang for your
article marketing buck. For free tips on how you can double,
triple and even quadruple your article marketing return on
investment, subscribe to the PR LEADS Article Marketing Secrets
& Breakthroughs Newsletter at: