Offering Smart Choices Online Since 1997 | Secure Shopping | Money-back Guarantee
LOGIN

All Customer Reviews for "ReadingPen TS Premium Reading Assistive Pen, WizCom"
Average Customer Review: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 20 Reviews
Write your own review.


5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great product, 8.8.2014
Reviewer: Brandi Simmons (Cleveland Heights, OH)

This has really been helpful. Our daughter has dyslexia and the reading pen has made a huge difference in her life. What I like about it is she often scans notes into it to share with me later for discussion. My best friend is thinking of buying one for her daughter who does not have dyslexia just for this reason.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Quite pleased with it, 8.4.2014
Reviewer: Laura Taylor (Mesa, AZ)

The pen worked right out of the box. The salesman told us before buying to use it just like a highlighter and watch that angle to the paper. Well, we did exactly that and had no problems. I'd read some reviews elsewhere that said it wasn't accurate and that's true only if you don't understand how to use it. Works perfectly for us.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 We are SO happy we bought this, 7.17.2014
Reviewer: Mary Griffin (Memphis, TN)

My husband is dyslexic and we both lost our jobs last year due to the Unaffordable Care Act. I was able to get two part-time jobs earlier this year (lower wage, but total of 50 hours so almost as much money as befvore). But he found only one part-time job and at only 20 hrs/week. They said if he can pass a certification exam, they'd consider him for up to 30 hours and maybe full-time. But his dyslexia always kept him a few points from passing the exam. With the ReadingPen he was able to pass the exam at long last, and he's now working the maximum hours permitted before Obummercare kicks in. It's a long-shot that he'll get full-time work, because of Obummercare but his boss recommended him for a 12 hour slot every Friday at another company and they took him on because of his certification at the first company. So now he's working 42 hours a week and we are paying down the debts we incurred after being blindsided by that awful legislation that nearly made us homeless. We are now on the road to financial recovery and counting the days until Obama loses his job. Maybe after that, we'll get full-time work again.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 My favorite little helper, 2.14.2014
Reviewer: Sue Roundtree (Denver, CO)

I have a slight reading impairment, and was looking for something to help me deal with that because I have to do a lot of reading (mostly research). This does double duty, because it's also a note taker. And that's something I really, really needed help with. So my problems, solved. With this one device.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Works extremely well, 1.31.2014
Reviewer: Jennifer Young (Iowa City, IA)

This is well-designed and easy to use, unlike the new camera I ended up taking back (seriously, this is a big issue for me). It did take me a few tries to get the hang of the scanning, but once I did it's perfect every time. I'm using the note taker feature a little, but the main thing is I like having the dictionary definitions right there so I can look up a word just by scanning it (that was my reason for getting the pen).

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Absolutely love it, 11.16.2013
Reviewer: James Reed (San Jose, CA)

It's helped me with my dyslexia, because it gets me past words that would otherwise stop me. The note-taking feature is awesome, because I have to do research papers in college and I'm not feeding dimes to the copier for "don't check it out" references.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Very helpful, 11.10.2013
Reviewer: Sharon Barnes (Freeport, IL)

I was a little confused at first. I thought it didn't work and was really disappointed, but then I realized the cap was on. The sales rep told me you use it like a highlighter, and that includes removing the cap! It works great to just read with, and I can easily hear it. I'm still getting used to the other functions like how to take notes with it.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Crystal clear voice!, 10.2.2013
Reviewer: Barb Watson (Hurst, TX)

We bought software to read documents on the computer, and it sounds like a robot. That's what I expected from this reading pen, so I was bowled over to hear that pleasant natural voice. This was also surprisingly easy to use. We haven't set up the file transfer thing with the computer yet, so maybe that's the gotcha that'll get us. But as smooth as things have gone so far, probably that will be easy too.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great product, 8.6.2013
Reviewer: Sue White (Philadelphia, PA)

I bought this for my daughter, who has a mild dyslexia that wasn't apparent until her heavy college load. She's using the reading pen to help her with reading comprehension but also with taking notes from reference books that students aren't permitted to check out from the library. It saves her precious time, and she is doing well now. My husband and I look at what we paid for this pen as protecting our huge investment in college tuition. A real bargain and a great product.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Reading part is easy; note taker a bit less so, 6.29.2013
Reviewer: Jennifer Owens (Richardson, TX)

Right out of the box, I was able to scan text and hear it read. I don't know how, but they need to make the note taking part a little easier. I was fussing with this and dropped the manual. It just happened to land on the tutorial that walked me through this. What are the odds? But what I would have liked is a demo CD or maybe voice prompts on the pen. The little icons are hard to figure out, so tapping around doesn't work too well.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Really happy with it, 5.13.2013
Reviewer: Dave Ellis (New York, NY)

You take it out of the box, put the batteries in, and just start using it. I found that impressive. The last gadget I bought was a weather radio, and it took me half an hour to set it up before I could use it. The primary purpose is the reading function, and that's what the pen is set up to do right away. The other thing it does is take notes, and that's a bit more involved to get going. Lucky for me, I had a working reading pen so I could get through the instructions!

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Good use of my consumer dollars, 3.23.2013
Reviewer: Sandra Baker (Nashville, TN)

I have some reading issues, and needed something to help me with those. This reading pen does the job, and it's easy to use. Now I am using the note-taking feature also. It was easy to set up, but at first I thought something was wrong until I used the pen to read the instructions closely! The ability to read more easily is a godsend to me, and this note-taking thing just really adds to that. I take this pen with me wherever I go. It comes in a case that's not very different from a glasses case, so easily fits in my purse. The reading pen has already improved my life because I can now access printed materials instead of dreading them.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Very smart device!, 11.30.2012
Reviewer: Amy Fontenot (Shreveport, LA)

Our daughter has had reading difficulties for a long time, and now that she's in high school she needs something to help her with that. We got the TS version of this reading pen because the other one was out of stock and now we're really glad we did. She uses the reading pen to scan notes from the reference section of the library and then she hooks up the pen to her computer at home and loads the notes right into Microsoft Word. It's a time-saver, plus there's not the problem of trying to read hand-written notes.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Easy to scan and hear, other features puzzling, 10.31.2012
Reviewer: Nell Watson (Indianapolis, IN)

I installed the batteries and handed this to my son, who has dyslexia. All I told him was to pretend it's a highlighter and to highlight the first word he couldn't read. He did that, and the pen said the word aloud. He was able to do this repeatedly without assistance. As for the note taking and changing the settings and doing anything other than reading, I had to sit down with the manual and work things out. This was easier than I had anticipated, but still I had to spend time doing it.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Wonderful reading aid, 10.21.2012
Reviewer: Wanda Jackson (Ft Worth, TX)

This has changed my son's life. He has a reading disability, not a mental disability. He is really smart, but has struggled in school. Now he's reading, he's happy, and he is doing great in school.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 The answer we were looking for, 9.10.2012
Reviewer: Irene Little (Los Angeles, CA)

Our son is reading disabled. This has been incredibly frustrating for us, mostly because the people who are supposed to help don't seem to grasp the problem. We were even offered a laptop as a "solution" and I have no idea what they were thinking on that one. We found this reading pen and decided to get the version that takes notes because that will be very useful in doing school papers. I had steeled myself for something complicated, but that was not the case at all. After I put the batteries in, it was ready to go. There are no steps involved, you just roll the pen across and it reads out loud. Mike just loves using it, and he now looks forward to reading. He actually sits down with a book and enjoys it instead of being frustrated with the process.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Helps with reading, also takes notes, 6.19.2012
Reviewer: Bruce Gray (Tulsa, OK)

This reading pen has helped me improve my reading skills dramatically. The requirements at work started getting tougher, and being barely able to read was no longer an option. Just six months ago, I would not have been able to write this. In addition to becoming a more able reader, I needed to study books that the library does not let people check out. Taking notes on key items using this pen was truly a Godsend. The pen could use a few minor improvements, I think. So I give it a 4 instead of a 5. But it is maybe a 4+. Anyhow, the reading pen has helped me make a brighter future for myself and my family. Thank you.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Very happy with reading pen, 6.4.2012
Reviewer: Nancy Snyder (Columbus, OH)

Our initial concern was this reading pen might be too difficult for our daughter to use, but she took to it right away and is now using it all the time. It has really helped her overcome reading barriers while increasing her vocabulary. She hasn't used the note taking feature much, yet. But as she get older, we expect that will be her primary use for this device. We are very happy with this purchase.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Solves reading problems, 3.26.2012
Reviewer: Amber Robinson (Seattle, WA)

I actually needed this pen in February, but had to wait until March to get it because they were all sold out. The product itself is quite good. It has a solid feel to it, but is light and easy to use. No problems, other than being able to actually buy one. The voice on it is also pleasant, and I like being able to take notes with it.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Pretty amazing device, 9.26.2011
Reviewer: Jean Bartleson (Oakland, CA)

This reading pen is much easier to use than we expected. It does much more than just read, too. We are very happy with it.

 

Back to ReadingPen TS Premium Reading Assistive Pen, WizCom