Offering Smart Choices Online Since 1997 | Secure Shopping | Money-back Guarantee
LOGIN

All Customer Reviews for "Electrical Harmonics Causes and Cures"
Average Customer Review: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 13 Reviews
Write your own review.


5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great information, great results, 2.23.2012
Reviewer: Mary Evans (Philadelphia, PA)

For a long time, we were dealing with the black magic called "harmonics" and spent a lot of time and money doing things that sometimes seemed to make things worse. The problem was our electrical engineer had no training in this and neither did our electricians. We hired a couple of different shops to help us and it became clear they had no training in it either. So on my own I started looking for something to help explain harmonics on a practical level. After buying several books, I was becoming discouraged. They were all theory and jargon suitable maybe for an engineering course but not for a day to day electrician like myself. Then I got this course and everything clicked. Using my new understanding, I began working with our plant electrical engineer on solving our problems. Then he'd come up with projects, like removing the ground loops on a particular production line. We are seeing far fewer burned up motors, dead lighting ballasts, and other harmonics-related problems than a year ago. We are still working on things, but this time we know what we are doing and the results are proof.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Good harmonics course, 8.9.2011
Reviewer: Lucy Hanson (San Francisco, CA)

This gives a solid theoretical background on harmonics, and a good practical "how to solve" aspect. I think anyone taking this course can solve any harmonics problem in any facility. What's missing from it is a listing of product recommendations. I now think I understand what to do about harmonics problems in our plant, but not specifically in terms of what equipment to buy. That might be a bit too much to expect, but figuring that out is now where I am.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Excellent material, very clear, 3.29.2011
Reviewer: Thomas Mulholland (New York, NY)

I was impressed with the complete lack of gobbledegook. This is the best text I have yet seen on harmonics, and we have gone through a pile of books. All of them useless. This course is like having a sharp engineer talk directly with you to help you understand. We've implemented a few of the suggestions and ideas, and so far things are working out quite well as a result.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Clears up the mysteries, 1.7.2011
Reviewer: Gina Santero (Columbus, OH)

This harmonics course really blew me away. Moreover, my boss was impressed with the results I got from applying what I learned. We had been spending a lot of money and getting nowhere. It was all so mysterious--and expensive. That's cleared up now, and so are just about all of our harmonics problems.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Good material, saved us time and money, 9.13.2010
Reviewer: Pete Thornton (Palo Alto, CA)

This was very comprehensive, except it didn't go into how to choose the right test equipment for measuring harmonics. So I got done with this course and then needed to research test equipment. This wasn't a big problem, and I felt I got more than my money's worth from the great information on theory, symptoms, effects, and solutions for harmonics.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Excellent value, helped us immensely, 7.18.2010
Reviewer: Rick Bradford (Greensboro, NC)

We've had a number of power quality experts parade through here, most of them wanting to sell us something rather than truly identify exactly what's causing our problems. During an online search for some kind of insight, I came across this harmonics course and decided the cost wasn't much of a risk if it didn't work out. But work out, it did. In spades. We have dramatically improved waveform signatures, reduced THD, improved power factor, increased uptime, and reduced utility bills. The jury is still out on whether we've extended cable life, but the cables are cooler so I'm pretty sure we did. This all seems pretty amazing, and if not for the hard data I would have been unable to show the before and after. The top managers called me into a meeting to explain how all this was accomplished and I gave them the concepts from this harmonics course. I'd heard the words before, but didn't understand the meaning. Thanks to this course, I was able to understand and implement. I think it saved my job.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Paid for itself 6 times over, 6.2.2010
Reviewer: Tim Baxter (Pensacola, FL)

We got a lot of benefit from this course. What an eye-opener. Due to what we've learned, uptime is up and power problems are disappearing.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Solved 90% of our harmoncis problems, 2.23.2010
Reviewer: Howard Minter (Arlington, OH)

For the price, it's a fantastic value. As we began putting the material to use, our harmonics problems began disappearing and now harmonics-related downtime has dropped to 10% of what it was. However, we still have a few niggling issues that we can't seem to solve.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 We finally got a handle on harmonics, 1.25.2010
Reviewer: Richard Sanders (Nashville, TN)

We've been fighting harmonics for years, and have had an endless procession of consultants and "experts" advise us. The problem, in hindsight, was we kept chasing specific problems rather than looking at the whole situation. This course changed everything. We finally got a handle on harmonics, and are racking up an impressive record of actual fixes. Total downtime is down. Motors run cooler. Waveforms look better. We ended up removing a problematic RC tank we had originally installed to mitigate harmonics, and are doing just fine without it.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Answers nearly all we needed to know, 1.15.2010
Reviewer: Bryan Coleridge (Raleigh, NC)

I would have liked to see a section detailing the latest harmonic analyzers, because now we're going to buy one. Prior to this course, we had directed a lot of time and money to the wrong things. It got us on track and many of our PQ problems no longer exist. Shutdowns are occuring far less often than only 6 weeks ago.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Wow!, 11.11.2009
Reviewer: John Baxter (Lakewood, OH)

I'm really impressed. Great coverage of all the important topics (and probably some not so important).

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Excellent course, very practical, 10.24.2009
Reviewer: Carl Lorenz (Denver, CO)

I'd like to see more illustrations. Other than that, it's just mind-blowing in how well it covers the topic. Very clear explanations, too.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Excellent course, very useful, 7.7.2009
Reviewer: Brian Lapovitch (Brooklyn, NY)

After dealing with three consultants in a row who didn't seem get anywhere, I was looking online and came across this course. Our senior electrician bought it and started applying the lessons learned. We got results immediately. Our harmonics problems are steadily disappearing, as we keep rolling out work orders based on this course. Thank you SO much. Worth every penny and more.

 

Back to Electrical Harmonics Causes and Cures